Trust SHO surgical rotation

Main area
Surgery
Contract
fixed-term
Hours
40
Job ref
290-TDPB359
Site
St. Mary's Hospital
Town
London
Salary
£30,605 to £40,491 pa
Closing
04/03/2018 17:00

IMPORTANT:

Please ensure you check your emails regularly as this is how we will communicate with you throughout the recruitment process. If you are shortlisted you will be contacted by email and text message (if you provide a mobile contact number)

_______________________________________________________________________________

Imperial College Healthcare Surgical Rotation Programme

Applications are invited for a 1-2 year rotation through surgical specialties in our Trust, including our Major Trauma Service. These are not accredited training posts but will have excellent training opportunities and full access to all our educational resources.   The posts are suitable for individuals who want to pursue a career in surgery and wish to increase their knowledge and experience in preparation for gaining a National Training Number in their chosen surgical specialty. For candidates who only require a 6 month placement in a specific speciality, this may also be possible.

Candidates should have finished their foundation programme. There will be excellent opportunities for research and audit projects. There is the option for doing a part-funded integrated MSc in Surgical Sciences at Imperial College. Further research options are available, such as Clinical Research Fellow posts, which are aimed at delivering a MD or PhD. There are posts available now and from August 2018.

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is the UK’s first Academic Health Sciences Centre. It has an international reputation for high quality clinical performance, innovation and research excellence. Successful candidates would be expected to contribute to this reputation by their clinical and academic performance. 

 

The following posts are available:

General Surgery with subspecialist exposure to upper GI, lower GI, bariatric, breast

Urology

Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Vascular surgery

Trauma &Orthopaedics

Major Trauma

ENT

 

Candidates’ rotation preference cannot be guaranteed and will depend on performance at interview. Informal enquiries can be made to:

General Surgery- Mr George Reese george.reese@nhs.net

Urology- Mr David Hrouda d.hrouda@nhs.net

Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery- Mr Shehan Hettiaratchy shehan.hettiaratchy@nhs.net or  Mr Jonathan Simmons – jonathan.simmons1@nhs.net

Vascular Surgery- Mr Colin Bicknell colin.bicknell@nhs.net  

Trauma &Orthopaedics - Mr Raymond Anakwe raymond.anakwe@imperial.nhs.net

Major Trauma- Mr Christopher Aylwin christopher.aylwin@imperial.nhs.net

ENT- Professor Neil Tolley neil.tolley@nhs.net

Apprenticeships logoNo smoking policyPositive about disabled peopleInvestors in People: GoldStonewall equality policy. Equality and justice for lesbians, gay men, bisexual and trans people.Mindful employer.  Being positive about mental health.Improving working livesAge positive

Applicant requirements

You must have appropriate UK professional registration.

This post is subject to the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act (Exceptions Order) 1975 and it will be necessary for a submission for Disclosure to be made to the Disclosure and Barring Service.

Documents to download

To print a document or save it to your computer, please click with your right mouse button on the document title and select "Save Target As...". You can then save the document in a suitable place on your computer ready to print it out. Clicking with the left mouse button will open the document in a new window (if your web browser can do so).

Apply online now

If you have problems applying, contact

Telephone
02033115342